Nova Scotia Business Laureate Archive

Commemorating the Nova Scotia Business Hall of Fame Laureates

View Archive

Our Mission

To engage and inspire Nova Scotians and the world with the stories and the history of Nova Scotian business leaders through the Nova Scotia Business Hall of Fame Laureates – titans of industry, business, and entrepreneurship.

2021 Laureates

Rustum Southwell

Inducted 2022

Rustum Southwell is best known as the founding CEO of the Black Business Initiative (BBI). Originally from Saint Kitts, Southwell arrived in Halifax in 1972 and has been contributing to Nova Scotia’s business landscape ever…

Learn more

Mandy Rennehan

Inducted 2022

Mandy Rennehan was born and raised in Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, and came from very humble beginnings. The daughter of a lobster fisherman, her family of six faced many challenges including growing up in a community…

Learn more

Don Mills

Inducted 2022

Don Mills is currently the President of Crane Cove Holdings Limited, his family investment firm, a partner and Director with CABCO Communications, an IT infrastructure company and Total Marketing & Communications, a Bermuda-based company he…

Learn more

John W. Chisholm

Inducted 2022


John W. Chisholm was born in Antigonish on January 5th, 1946. John co-founded with his father Nova Construction, one of the largest road building companies east of Quebec. When it came to the business of…

Learn more

Laureate Advisory Council for the Creation of the Legacy Project (2017 – 2022)

Wadih Fares (chair)
Frank Sobey
Irene D’Entremont
Steve Smith
Chris Huskilson
Dr. Kristin Williams

Legacy Project Investors

Bill Black
George Caines
Sharon Calder
Richard Calder
Diane Campbell
Sir Graham Day
Irene D’Entremont
Jim Eisenhauer
Josephine Eisenhauer
Cathy Fares
Wadih Fares
Fred Fountain
Elizabeth Fountain
Chis Huskilson
Pete Luckett
Colin MacDonald
Al MacPhee
Ralph Medjuck
Shirlee Medjuck
Stephen O’Regan
Mary O’Regan
Steve Parker
Joe Randell
Bill Ritchie
Dorothy Rowe
Kenneth C Rowe
Joe Shannon
Steve Smith
Donald Sobey
David Sobey
Frank Sobey
Jim Spatz
Rob Steele
Annette Verschuren